Breaking News
** නව මැතිවරණ ක්‍රමය වෙනුවෙන් පැෆ්රල් සිය යෝජනා බාරදෙයි                      **මැතිවරණ කොමිසම හා පැෆ්රල් අතර තවත් සාකච්ඡාවක්                     **පැෆ්රල් හා ප්‍රජාතන්ත්‍රවාදී වාමාංශික පෙරමුණ අතර සාකච්ඡාවක්                     ** ඡන්ද විමසීම අවසන්                     ** අවධානම් කලාප වෙත ජංගම නිරීක්ෂණ රථ                      **සමාජ ජාල නිරීක්ෂණය මෙවරත්                      ** කොවිඩ් වංසගතයත් මැතිවරණ අපේක්ෂකයින් ප්‍රවර්ධනයට යොදාගෙන                     **கொரோனா தொற்று நோய் நிலையினை வேட்பாளர்கள் தமது நலனுக்குப் பயன்படுத்தியுள்ளனர்                     ** පැෆ්රල් නමින් නිකුත් කරන ව්‍යාජ නිවේදනවලට රැවටෙන්න එපා                      
Home › Activities › Election Monitoring › Local Authority Elections

Local Authority Elections (Municipal Councils, Urban Councils & Pradeshiya Sabas)

The local authorities contribute the last tier of the electoral system. At this level are the – Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas. At present there are 23 Municipal Councils, 41 Urban Councils and 271 Pradeshiya Sabhas, making a total of 335 local government institutions.

Generally speaking, Municipal Councils are established for large towns and cities, Urban Councils for less urbanized areas and Pradeshiya Sabhas for areas which are considered rural.

In the case of elections to local authorities, a ward system is not followed and the whole local authority area becomes the electorate. In these elections too, members are elected on the principles relating to proportional representation. The number of members of each local authority is determined by the Minister in charge of the subject of local government taking into consideration the area and the population of the local authority.

Every Municipal Council should have a Mayer and a Deputy Mayer and every Urban Council and Pradeshiya Sabha a Chairman and a Vice Chairman. Where a single political party or an independent group secures over 50 per cent of the seats in a local authority, these positions are filled by nomination of members by the respective political party or the independent group. In instances where a single political party or an independent group has not secured more than 50 per cent of the seats, they are elected from among the members, by the members.

The term of office of a local authority is four years.


Past Elections

No.16, Byrde Place,Off Pamankada Rd,
Colombo 00600,
Tel: +94 11 2558570/71 Fax: +94 11 2558572 Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2013 Paffrel All Rights Reserved.           Solution by Tekgeeks